Frances Farmer

My Fail at Making Poached Eggs

In Food on November 4, 2012 at 12:13 am

I’m always looking for new ways to make eggs since they are probably the best thing to eat in the morning because they keep me full. I stumbled across an interesting recipe for poached eggs. I’d never poached eggs before; I didn’t even know what poached eggs were, but I decided to give it a try.

Poached Eggs in Roman Red Spaghetti Sauce

1 tablespoon Olive Oil

1/4 cup  Onions

1 clove of garlic per person

1/4 cup of sliced tomatoes

1 dash salt and pepper (I used black pepper and seasoned salt)

1/8 cup Cream (Here, I substituted red spaghetti sauce)

2 eggs

1) Saute onion and garlic in oil. (This was the easy part)

2) Add tomatoes, salt, and pepper

3) Cook on simmer for 20 minutes

4) Add cream

5) Sauce is complete

6) For sauce with eggs, crack 2 eggs into sauce and let eggs poach. (This part was harder)

I realized I hadn’t put enough liquid to cover the yolks, so…I ended with scrambled eggs.

Hopefully, you do better than me (:

  1. […] @ Ramblings of A Teenager writes My Fail at Making Poached Eggs – Recipe for poached eggs in red spaghetti sauce; pictures and personal adjustments to […]

Please leave a comment.

