Frances Farmer

Cookies from Cake Batter!

In Food on November 26, 2012 at 2:30 pm

I was craving cookies one day, but sadly had none “Ready to Bake,” which is what I’m used to. It didn’t occur to me to make my own cookies until I discovered this recipe:

1 package – Cake mix (one without pudding in it)

2 eggs

1/2 cup – vegetable oil

CHOICE OF THE FOLLOWING:

6 oz – chocolate chips

6 oz- butterscotch chips (I used these (: )

6 oz peanut butter chips

1/2 cup coconut; shredded

1/2 cup raisins

1 apple grated

1 cup – Nuts; chopped

1/2 cup dried apricots; chopped fine

Serves 48

1) Preheat oven to 350 degree Fahrenheit.

2) Combine cake mix, eggs, and oil. Mix well, then add optional ingredients and blend in.

3) Drop by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheet.

4) Bake 9-12 minutes.

Recipe by Jo Anne Merrill

These cookies were great and easy to make. They satisfied my cookie craving! I used german chocolate cake mix and I also added blue vanilla icing and sprinkles!

  1. […] Burst! Recipe 1 Lemon Squares Recipe 2 Chocolate Cake Recipe 3 Twinkies Recipe 4 Pound Cake Recipe 5 Boxed Cake Mix Cookies Recipe 6 Decadent Hot Chocolate Recipe 7 Hamburger Creamed Gravy Recipe […]

  2. what size package of cake mix? I have actually done this before, and because pre-packaged cake mix is very sugary, the cookies turned out that way too, donno if you wound up with that problem.

    • The one I used was 18.25 oz. It was Betty Crocker brand. Mine came out just right. I think if it’s anything other than something like white cake or something simple it’ll be too much. If you do end up using one with pudding in it, I’d imagine that’d be too sweet.

      • Im not aware of cake mixes that have pudding in it, seems about what I did, I think my taste for cookies aren’t for something this sweet.

        • Maybe a sugar free cake mix would be best?

          • lol its ok. I’m not saying this recipe is a bad idea. Maybe adding some flour to the mix will fix it and I might try that in the future.
            Thanks for your replies! I have included this and briefly your other submission to the blog carnival.
            note: sugar free actually means fake sugar, and fake sugar tastes about the same as real sugar. Fake sugar actually is worse for you than real sugar. The body senses sugar coming in and responds by getting ready to absorb it. When the fake sugar comes in and the body is unable to absorb it the body remembers that and triggers more eating later. Fake sugar is generally not a good idea, and with unproven long term effects I recommend staying away from “sugar free.”

            • Thank you so much (:

              Whoa, I didn’t know that. I’ll be sure to look out for that now. Artificial stuff is the worst. Thank you for the tip.

Please leave a comment.

