Frances Farmer

I Have the Power, & So Do You

In Advice on December 21, 2012 at 7:40 pm
Urbana 2006 motto: Live a Life Worthy of the C...

Urbana 2006 motto: Live a Life Worthy of the Calling (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I know it’s a cliche, but being positive can change your world, your world outlook I mean. I find that complimenting and  loving myself, instead of waiting for someone else to, saves me from the anger and sadness that comes from expecting others to read my mind. My happiness shouldn’t be dependent on anyone other than myself because, eventually, people will let me down one way or another. My happiness, my well-being, my self-esteem, my life should be affected by me and only me. Instead of getting caught up in the “reality” of perfect relationships portrayed in the movies, I can be my own best friend, I can be my own motivation and I will be. And so can you (:

 

  1. Reminds me of what i heard a lady say on the VOA many year ago, she said, “validate yourself, you don’t need someone else to do that. Validate yourself first.” It helped me on that path to self esteem. People will let you down and look down on you but what you tell yourself will determine if you’ll slouch your shoulders the rest of your days or walk shoulder-high. Nice post.

Please leave a comment.

