Frances Farmer

Create Your Own “Silence”

In Stress Relief on January 8, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Sometimes I really need a quiet space to simply to think, meditate, or just chill out for a second, but it always seems as if that time is interrupted by audio pollution. Those kids outside my house bouncing the basketball over and over, each time shattering my peace. Or that car honking for no apparent reason. Or worse, the incessant chatter of random people when all I really want is silence. If you’ve ever experienced this, you know my pain.

Well, I’ve found a way to beat the noise and create my own silence in the face of distractions. I plug in my headphones and listen to:

Binaural Beats *do not listen while driving or operating machinery

English: Morning mist on Lake Mapourika, New Z...

English: Morning mist on Lake Mapourika, New Zealand. Français : Brume du matin sur le lac Mapourika, en Nouvelle-Zélande. Deutsch: Nebel bei Lake Mapourika in Neuseeland. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sounds of Nature

Instrumentals

Dubstep

Classical Music

White Noise

Rain

Listening to any one of these sounds eliminates distracting noise and makes a peaceful place to think, chill, meditate, or just escape from it all. Listening with headphones makes the experience better (: If I left out anything, please let me know.

  1. What a great post! Thank you!!

Please leave a comment.

