Frances Farmer

Avoid the Valentine’s Day Blues

In Advice on January 28, 2013 at 9:32 pm
Broken Heart

Broken Heart (Photo credit: Gabriela Camerotti)

Keep your heart intact this Valentine’s Day.

I know Valentine’s Day is all about the chocolates, the flowers, the mushy-gushy love poems, but…

(prepare yourself for a radical thought)

it certainly doesn’t have to be about romantic relationships at all. (dun, dun dunnn!)

     You can flip the script anytime you choose and make Valentine’s day about loving yourself. Yeah, it may suck to see seemingly everyone around you with a Valentine’s day card, a bouquet of flowers, or whatever it may be while you received absolutely nothing from a special someone, but this occurrence shouldn’t deplenish your self-love in anyway because you are more than material things and deserve more than an overrated, sappy relationship. The right person will come along in time; however, in the meantime, you can practice extending love to yourself and realize that you do not need a relationship, or chocolate, or roses in order to be whole.

     I, too, will be spending this Valentine’s Day without a special someone to shower me with gifts, but that’s okay because I still have my family and friends. There are so many other people in my life that express their love to me everyday, in addition to Valentine’s Day. I won’t let one day get me down because it didn’t go as it was “supposed” to and I don’t have to end up stuffing my face with ice cream as a last result. If anything, I should stuff my face with ice cream because I want to. And you should too (:

Take this Valentine’s Day as the chance to fall in love with you.

  1. […] Avoid the Valentine’s Day Blues (franniebobanie.wordpress.com) […]

Please leave a comment.

