Frances Farmer

The Truth Behind Happiness

In Advice, Stress Relief on March 21, 2013 at 9:44 am

Happiness

Want to know how to make happiness a constant state in your life?

Be in the present.

Meditation has taught me how to live in the present. When all the distracting background noise fades away, the chattering of my mind finally reaches silence, and I have reached inner peace, all that is left is the present. The past only exists when I entertain those thoughts; the future is up to me and only me. The present is a time to focus on what’s in front of me and nothing else. So, try your hand at meditation to start learning how exactly to be happy in the now.

Meditation isn’t just sitting cross-legged with your eyes closed.

Every single activity in your daily life can be turned into a meditation.

As the cliche goes, happiness can be found in the little things. I’m finding this to be true for me. As I am busy doing homework, I can find peace in the birds singing just outside my window. While listening to music, I can enhance the experience by truly listening to every beat, every instrument, every word. Even eating can be made into a joyous symphony of flavors when you actually stop and taste what is going into your mouth.

The secret to making everyday activities moments of pure happiness is to live in the moment of now. For instance, instead of rushing to work in the morning and risking an accident, slow down and enjoy the scenery around you: the swaying, green trees, the bright blue sky, the wispy, white clouds. Take it all in. I promise you that while you may still be late, you will arrive to work much more refreshed and calm.

Try it!

 

  1. […] The Truth Behind Happiness (franniebobanie.wordpress.com) […]

Please leave a comment.

