Frances Farmer

So What If I Don’t Shave?

In The Girl Behind the Blog on June 6, 2013 at 5:44 am

From its early stages to today’s methods of hair removal, shaving, waxing, and depilatories have allowed women to fit into society’s standard of beauty. I, on the other hand, have decided to challenge this small-minded definition of a woman.

The hair removal industry has been largely and interestingly enough dominated by males. The first razors and hair removal creams were made by men, yet mostly targeted at women. Of course, men do shave, but not to the extent that women do. Majority of women go through plucking, tweezing, waxing, and all other body mutilations while men shave sparingly. All of this to simply “fit in” to society.

I don’t think that some people realize that hair removal is a choice. All too often I am ridiculed and looked down upon for my decision not to conform. My mother claims that shaving is for “personal hygiene,” yet does not hold my brothers to the same standard. Hair in itself does have its purpose; that’s why it grows naturally. As the hair on our heads helps to protect from overexposure to sun rays, leg hair helps keep us warm while armpit hair protects against bacteria.

It is my choice to shave or not to shave; no one should be coerced to do anything they don’t want to, shaving included. My hair is not me, my legs are not me, my arms are not me, my body is not me. My beauty is not confined to my outward appearance.

And neither is yours.

 

Please leave a comment.

