Frances Farmer

Keep Your Judgements Away From Me

In Poetry on June 18, 2013 at 10:44 am

Inspired by the quote:

Repeat after me: I am free.

 

Shackled and chained my soul remained

Tamed by the society I blame

Labels and opinions: society’s minions

Tear at the last pieces of my self-esteem, self-confidence, self-image

Thoughtlessly continuing their pillage

“She’s black,” they point

Just like the others you’ll find her at the end of a joint

“She’s just a girl,” they say

Too much is all she’ll ever weigh

But I must be more than they think of me

I am more than the simple pronoun “she”

I finally found the key to loving me

Truth is, I’ve always been free

 

Side-note:

I wrote this poem in the midst of the night after tossing and turning in my bed for too long. The words kept flashing through my brain as if yearning to be free. I got up and wrote these uncensored feelings until my soul was satisfied and sleep was finally mine. This poem addresses the constant judgements I am afflicted by. Too often negativity is spread through foolish tongues whose minds’ see no wrong. The simple quote, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all,” speaks volumes to me.

 

Please leave a comment.

