Frances Farmer

What’s Better Than a Massage (And Free!)?

In Stress Relief on July 4, 2013 at 6:47 pm

This neglected part of your workout thoroughly relaxes muscles better than a massage can.

For me, yoga is not just an exercise routine.

It relieves tension in my body and provides me with a positive state of mind. I can let go of

negativity, stress, muscle tension, and more 

with yoga alone.

For instance, while I’m in a downward dog, I feel the pull on my legs and arms, which are the areas that are meant to be stretched in this pose, but I also feel a strain in my shoulders that probably comes from too many hours sitting on the computer.

As I hold my downward dog longer and go deeper in the pose, this “extra” tension in my shoulders is eradicated and I feel at peace.

I believe that stress accumulates in different parts of the body and in order to release the tension, the muscles must be stretched.

Through alleviating stress, I can focus my attention on more pertinent things such as my blog.

If you’ve never attempted yoga before, here are 3 easy, beginner poses to try:

  1. Downward dog

  2. Plank Pose

  3. Upward Dog

Downward Dog:

English: Downward-Facing-Dog Български: Адхо М...

English: Downward-Facing-Dog Български: Адхо Мукха Шванасана/Куче с муцуната надолу (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

 

 

This pose gets into the legs and arms primarily, but can also be felt in the hips, ankles, and shoulders.

Plank Pose:

Hatha Yoga Video Class Staff Plank Pose - Dand...

Hatha Yoga Video Class Staff Plank Pose – Dandasana (Photo credit: myyogaonline)

 

 

 

This pose works the arms, legs, and stomach. It can also be performed on the elbows to go further into the shoulders.

Upward Dog:

upward dog

upward dog (Photo credit: minka6)

 

 

 

 

This pose strengthens the arms. If all three of the above poses are done if order, you’ll notice they flow from one to the next.

If you want to try more beginner’s yoga, check out Tara Stiles on Youtube.

Start releasing pent-up tension, so you can focus on what really matters! (:

Please leave a comment.

