Frances Farmer

3 Chakras for Cheerfulness

In blog, Mental/Emotional Health, Physical Health on January 15, 2014 at 6:00 am

Learn which chakras are key in your happiness!

The idea of chakras comes from Hindu alternative medicine. Chakras are similar to pressure points and the process of stimulating these chakras mirrors that of qi gong and pranic healing. These practices are all a part of the biofield therapies family.

There are 3 chakras that are important in cultivating joy and contentment. Activating these points will rid stress and anxiety, in addition to many other ailments.

Many simple activities are capable of stimulating chakras.

Begin your own chakra balancing and energizing with this guide.


What are Chakras?

According to Hindu tradition, chakras are points on the body through which energy flows. Each chakra corresponds to a specific location on the body and deals with certain energies. Keeping these energy centers clear is key in remaining in control of stress and staying healthy.

There are 7 chakras in total: Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye, & Crown.


Photo credit: nessman / / CC BY

Stress Outlets will be focusing on the 3 chakras that deal with stress, anxiety, and, most importantly, happiness.


The Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine (aka. tail bone). It influences the nervous system, blood, spine, legs and bones.

The clues to knowing this chakra is unbalanced are:

  • Pessimism
  • Distrustfulness
  • Low-self esteem
  • Disconnectedness
  • Materialistic
  • Inflexibility in life

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The third chakra, the solar plexus, is found above the navel. It influences hormones and emotions, digestive organs, and skin.

The clues to knowing this chakra is unbalanced are:

  • Anxiety
  • Lack of confidence
  • Over-emotionalness/Unemotional
  • Fear
  • Nervousness
  • Detached

The Third Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra, the third eye chakra, is located between the eyebrows. It influences the brain.

The clues to knowing this chakra is unbalanced are:

  • Overthinking
  • Fantasizing
  • Close-mindedness
  • Confusion
  • Hallucinations
  • Non-intuitiveness

How to Balance the Chakras


-Root Chakra

To stimulate more stable and secure feelings, try exercises like yoga and focus on poses such as chair, frog, and tree pose. Any exercise that flexes the muscles in the tail bone help.


-Solar Plexus Chakra

Try poses such as plank pose (aka. push up position) or downward-facing dog. Any exercise that strengthens the core muscles work here.

Downward facing dog 011

Photo credit: / / CC BY-NC-SA

-Third Eye Chakra

Try poses such as reverse shoulder stretches and downward dog.

Shoulder Stretch

Photo credit: Sarahsvati #1 / / CC BY-ND


-Root Chakra

Other physical exercises to stimulate the root chakra include reflexology.

“Starting with your right foot, gently apply pressure with your thumb to your heel bone – the point that stimulates your base chakra.

Now, massage it by rotating your thumb in a clockwise direction. If you experience any pain – a sign of blocked energy – apply pressure until the pain fades away. If the pain continues for more than five minutes, stop massaging. Repeat on the left foot” (Heal stress, migraines and muscular tension with a chakra workout).

-Solar Plexus Chakra

“Place your finger or thumb on the chakra point found halfway between your heelbone and big toe of your right foot. Applying a medium amount of pressure, slowly rotate your finger on this point – moving in a clockwise direction for around 30 seconds.

Still applying pressure visualise a ball of light flowing through your fingers into the chakra point for one to two minutes. Now repeat on the left foot” (Heal stress, migraines and muscular tension with a chakra workout).

-Third Eye Chakra

Apply pressure to the forehead, specifically the area between the brows. Any rubbing, pinching, or massaging helps to open the third eye chakra.



-Root Chakra

Meditation also works. Try visualizing a red orb hovering over your tail bone. While inhaling, imagine this red orb illuminating your toes, your feet, your ankles, your legs, and then finally, your tail bone.

Once this red light has encompassed the bottom half of your body, see that light being absorbed by your root chakra. With every exhale, your root chakra grows brighter and brighter until all the red light is contained within it.

-Solar Plexus Chakra

Try a similar meditation as mentioned for the root chakra. Instead of a red orb, imagine a golden yellow light moving throughout your whole body and then, eventually, being drawn back into the navel area.

-Third Eye Chakra

For the third eye chakra, follow the same meditation routine as the for the root and solar plexus chakras, but visualize a dark blue orb over your forehead instead.

Whenever you feel anxious or stressed, remember you have the power of chakras at your disposal.


Work Cited

Berne, Samuel. “The Science Of Measuring Wellness.” Journal Of Behavioral Optometry 23.3 (2012): 63-67.Academic Search Complete. Web. 11 Jan. 2014.

“Heal Stress, Migraines and Muscular Tension with a Chakra Workout.” Mail Online. Associated Newspapers, n.d. Web. 13 Jan. 2014.


Please leave a comment.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s